Freebie Friday: DJ Ian Head’s ‘Summer Sun’ Mixtape

Written by Rizoh. Posted in Mixtapes

Published on June 18, 2010 with No Comments

I don’t know how I managed to sleep on DJ Ian Head’s monthly drops for so long, but I’m glad his Summer Sun mixtape finally woke me up. There’s a recurring quality in Ian’s mixtapes – he has that rare ability to string songs together seemingly effortlessly to capture a specific mood. The sequencing is pure genius. Every mix boasts boundless energy and concludes with a soothing outro. It’s as if the music is laying you down gently after an evening of wild club-hopping.

Ian’s latest, Summer Sun, includes the works of otherworldly sax genius Pharoah Sanders and musical mystic Donny Hathaway. As the title betrays, Summer Sun, is 33 minutes of warm-weather music. Ian didn’t provide a tracklist for this mix, but I’ve gone through the trouble of listing the songs (as many as I could ID anyway) here. Grab the download link right now. Make like Drake and thank me later.

Download: DJ Ian’s Summer Sun Mixtape


  • Leroy Hutson – Cool Cut
  • Pharoah Sanders – Astral Traveling
  • Lonnie Liston Smith & The Cosmic Echoes – Devika (Goddess)
  • Donny Hathaway – Valdez in the Country
  • Lonnie Liston Smith – Bridge Through Time
  • Faze-O – Ridin’ High
  • War – L.A. Sunshine
  • Howard Roberts – Dirty Old Bossa Nova
  • Quincy Jones – Summer in the City
  • Cymande – For Baby Ooh
  • Kool & The Gang – Summer Madness

[Thanks, m2wice]



Rizoh is the most powerful man in all the lands. He lives in Houston where he earned a BS in Nerf Herding. He's the founder of The Rap Up, the former editor of, and is in the Grammy-awaiting band Pervertable Disciples.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook

No Comments

There are currently no comments on Freebie Friday: DJ Ian Head’s ‘Summer Sun’ Mixtape. Perhaps you would like to add one of your own?

Leave a Comment

Site Meter