‘Kinshasa One Two’ Shows The Musical Stylings Of The DRC

Written by J.Monkey. Posted in Gumbo, Music, Tracklists

Published on September 01, 2011 with 1 Comment">1 Comment

Ah Congo (featuring Jupiter Bokondji and Bokatola System)

Hallo (featuring Tout Puissant Mukalo and Nelly Liyemge)

Lingala (featuring Bokatola System and Evala Litongo)

As reported earlier Damon Albarn has recorded with (among others) previous Gorillaz-collaborator Dan The Automator and Jneiro Jarel in the Democratic Republic of Congo. The albums contain collaborations with a slew of Congolese musicians and will be named ‘Kinshasa One Two’ and released under the moniker ‘DRC Music’ on Warp. Proceeds from the album go to the aid of Oxfam‘s humanitarian work. The three tracks of the project featured here are now available for your previewing pleasure.

‘Hallo’ (Feat. Tout Puissant Mukalo and Nelly Liyemge)
‘K-Town’ (Feat. N’Gotshima and Bebson)
‘African Space Anthem (A.S.A)’ (Feat. Ewing Sima of Tout Puissant Mukalo)
‘Love’ (Feat. Love)
‘Lingala’ (Feat. Bokatola System and Evala Litongo)
‘Lourds’ (Feat. Yende Bongongo of Okwess International)
‘Respect Of The Rules’ (Feat. Loi X Liberal)
‘We Come From The Forest’ (Feat. Bokatola System)
‘Customs’ (Feat. Bokatola System)
‘Virginia’ (Feat. Magakala Virginia Yollande and Yowa Hollande)
‘Ah Congo’ (Feat. Jupiter Bokondji and Bokatola System)
‘Three Piece Sweet Part 1 &2′ (Feat. Bebson)
‘If You Wish to Stay Awake’ (Feat. Washiba)
‘Departure’ (Feat. Bokatola System)



1982 was when Jaap van der Doelen aka J.Monkey shot his way out his mom dukes. A mere two years later he was already battling Big Brother and The Illuminati. Whenever he has time to spare from those efforts he writes (about music, mostly), hosts a radio show and designs graphics for a living. He lives in The Netherlands where he continues to be winning.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook

Site Meter