Yancey Boys’ (J.Dilla, Frank Nitt & Illa J) Sunset Blvd Tracklist And Cover Art Revealed

Written by J.Monkey. Posted in Tracklists

Tagged: , , ,

Published on September 26, 2013 with 1 Comment">1 Comment

Yancey Boys - Sunset Blvd

With the amount of Dilla beats still left in the vaults, releases that honor his legacy instead of simply banging a buck out of it should still be solidly within the realm of possibilities. Especially since the right people are involved with it, and Frank Nitt and Illa J make sure the list of personnel on this one fits with the idea of a Dilla project. Frank put it thusly:

“We created an album that would make Dilla proud. But this isn’t a nostalgia trip: Dilla’s beats were so future-forward that they’re right on time in 2013, and we’ve assembled the best artists possible to represent that.”

1. Dilltro (ft. Dank)
2. Fisherman (ft. Vice, J. Rocc and Detroit Serious)
3. Lovin’ U (ft. Eric Roberson)
4. Go And Ask The DJ (ft. Guilty Simpson & J. Rocc)
5. Jeep Volume (ft. T3 & C-Minus)
6. Flowers (ft. Talib Kweli, Niko Gray & Rhettmatic)
7. Honk Ya Horn (ft. J. Pinder)
8. Slippin’ (ft. Early Mac)
9. Without Wings
10. Beautiful (ft. Posdnuos & Botni Applebum)
11. Quicksand (ft. Common & Dezi Page)
12. Rock My World (Ft. SlimKid3 & Niko Gray)
13. The Throwaway
14. This Evening


1982 was when Jaap van der Doelen aka J.Monkey shot his way out his mom dukes. A mere two years later he was already battling Big Brother and The Illuminati. Whenever he has time to spare from those efforts he writes (about music, mostly), hosts a radio show and designs graphics for a living. He lives in The Netherlands where he continues to be winning.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook

  • IvanRott

    This looks promising…